Packing list – 4 days in Melbourne

On travel day, I’ll be wearing…

– dark grey skinny jeans, a t-shirt, navy blue Uniqlo cashmere jersey, a scarf/wrap, denim jacket, and dark brown Frye boots.

The bag I’m taking is my Lipault 18-inch weekender satchel. In honesty, it’s a little roomy for this trip, but there’s a likelihood I’ll do some shopping in H&M and Uniqlo. I also like the look of Lipault’s 15-inch weekender, which would most likely suit my needs better for short getaways where I don’t need to do a lot of walking with my bag.

IMG_0988

In a medium-sized Kathmandu packing cube, I’ll be carrying all of my clothes.

IMG_0985

– light grey skinny jeans, a dark grey merino top, a black waterfall-front merino cardigan, a pair of sleep shorts, a pair of black leggings to layer under jeans if it gets REALLY chilly, a Uniqlo Heattech tank-top, and three changes each of knickers, socks and t-shirts.

In an extra-small sized Kathmandu packing cube, I’ve grouped my miscellaneous items.

IMG_0983

– diary (black Moleskine notebook), Kobo ereader, USB converter plug, glasses in case, and a small zip-up purse to hold cables and a pair of earbuds.

I have three bags for my toiletries and make-up. The first is a clear plastic bag for liquids.

IMG_0980

In here I have a small bottle of contact lens solution, deodorant, a bottle of jojoba oil (that I use as a face cleanser, moisturiser, and hair de-frizz serum), some travel-sized bottles of shampoo and conditioner, a travel tube of toothpaste, and some individual plastic vials of eye drops.

The second is a small bag of non-liquid toiletries.

IMG_0981

This contains a razor, contact lens case, a strip of aspirin, birth control pills, nail clippers, a small toothbrush, blister tape, a couple of hair ties, ear-plugs, and a small tub of aromatic ‘de-stress’ balm.

Then there’s my make-up bag.

IMG_0982

In here I have some Clinique City Block sunscreen, mineral foundation and applicator brush, a small tube of roll-on cheek tint, mascara, eyeliner pencil, red lipstick with matching lipliner and a retractable lip brush, and a Bobbi Brown eyeshadow pencil. I have a small make-up purse in my handbag that contains a solid wax perfume (a gift from the Unhusband, which you can purchase here), a tube of lipbalm, and a Burt’s Bees liptint.

I’ll also be carrying a small cross-body handbag, which will contain my wallet, the aforementioned small make-up purse, phone, pen and passport.

This packing list isn’t perfect, by a long-shot. I’d like to get rid of that heavy bottle of liquid roll-on deodorant, and replace it with a stick deodorant instead. Also, my make-up bag is way too big for what is not a huge amount of product, and the mineral foundation is bulky and tends to spill when it gets shaken around during travel. When I use it up I’ll try to replace it with a stick foundation like this one from Benefit. I also usually like to travel with a small bottle of Dr Bronner’s liquid castile soap too, but left it out this time… It comes in handy for a LOT, that stuff (face wash, body wash, bath aroma, shampoo in a pinch, and to wash out clothes in a hotel sink). If need be I can used soap provided by the hotel for all the same purposes, just without the lavendery goodness I get from my Dr Bronner’s. All the same, for an urban trip where I’ll be staying in a decent hotel, and the weather will be cool and I won’t be doing huge amounts of walking or sight-seeing, this seems about right.

IMG_0986

All packed! Yes, I am only taking the pair of shoes I’ll be wearing to travel in.

No, I haven’t taken anything especially ‘dressy’ for a dinner or special event, but I feel that the clothes I’m taking with me will be appropriate in a ‘smart casual’ way for any eventuality. There’s nowhere in Melbourne that is so fancy that I’ll be refused entry for being in jeans, and I’m not planning on doing any clubbing.

IMG_0987

Everything fits easily, and is nicely organised if I should need to reach something while in transit. The bag fits easily under a seat on the plane.

Leave a Reply

